Mohave Community College Libraries

This page is here to help you research and find materials specific to your subject.

Faculty Services

Closed captioning services are available for video materials created by Faculty. Please contact the NCK Library if you need closed captioning added to your course materials: 928-757-0856 or eroper@mohave.edu.

Faculty are welcome to put on Course Reserve any textbooks, books, DVDs, etc. that might be needed for their classes. Course Reserve items can generally be checked out for 2–4 hour periods. Students are welcome to use the materials for study in the library or make copies of materials, as long as they abide by copyright laws. Generally, the libraries do not purchase textbooks for Course Reserves due to cost concerns.

Fill out my online form.

 

MCC Librarians encourage faculty to incorporate library instruction sessions into their courses. Library instruction sessions can cover a variety of topics, including:

  • Determining Information Needs
  • Accessing Information
  • Evaluating Information
  • Using Information Ethically

Each session, or series of sessions, is tailored to meet the unique research needs of the individual courses. Faculty should contact their campus librarian at least a week in advance in order to schedule library instruction. Instruction sessions may be held in the library, in a 500 lab, or in the course classroom. Faculty are required to attend the session.

Fill out my online form.

Information Literacy Learning Outcomes

MCC Librarians have outlined learning outcomes that align with skills frequently addressed during information literacy instruction sessions. These outcomes have been adapted from Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education, the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education, and the Information Literacy VALUE Rubric available through the Association of American Colleges and Universities. Many of the outcomes align with the student learning objectives outlined in MCC's General Education Philosophy, as indicated by parenthetical notations.

Determine Information Needs (3.2-3.6) (5.6-5.7)

  • Students will be able to explain the benefits of brainstorming their topic through preliminary/exploratory searches. (2.6)
  • Students will be able to generate keywords appropriate for their search inquiry. (2.3)
  • Students will be able to identify different information formats (peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, book, ebook, websites, etc.), including the unique steps that lead to their publication.
  • Students will be able to select appropriate information sources for their project. (2.2) (2.4) (2.6) (3.7)
  • Students will be able to refine their research topic in order to retrieve an appropriate amount of quality sources. (2.2) (3.7)
  • Students will be able to explain the purpose of using a library database. 
  • Students will be able to identify the structure of a library database. (2.3)
  • Students will be able to define literary criticism. (2.3)

Access Information (3.2-3.6) (4.1-4.4) (4.6) (5.3) (5.4) (5.7)

  • Students will be able to perform basic search operations (search, limiters, cite/save tools, locate PDF links) of databases appropriate for their class. (3.7)
  • Students will be able to locate books in the library catalog.
  • Students will be able to physically locate books in the library.
  • Students will be able to execute different methods for obtaining information not available in the library (e.g. interlibrary & intercampus loans).
  • Students will be able to use controlled vocabulary/thesauri tools. (2.3)

Evaluate Information (3.2-3.6) (5.3-5.7)

  • Students will be able to evaluate sources for usefulness. (2.4) (3.7)
  • Students will be able to evaluate sources for credibility. (2.4) (3.7)
  • Students will be able to explain the cyclical research process (new questions/branches of inquiry appear as you research your topic). (2.6) (5.2)
  • Students will be able to differentiate between primary and secondary sources. (5.2)

Use Information Ethically (3.2-3.6) (5.7)

  • Students will be able to articulate what constitutes plagiarism. (2.6)
  • Students will be able to explain why information should be used ethically. (2.6)
  • Students will be able to accurately use MLA or APA documentation style. (2.6) (5.6)

Campus Librarians are happy to take suggestions for materials to add to the library collection. Faculty input helps ensure that acquired materials align with course subject matter and better meet the needs of MCC students. Please contact your local campus librarian with suggestions for new physical and electronic materials.

Faculty are encouraged to use MCC Libraries for their own research and recreational purposes. Campus librarians are happy to investigate reference questions and assist with finding course resources. Faculty can request any MCC item through Inter-Campus Loan (ICL). Physical print resources (books, articles) not available through the MCC Library system may be acquired through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). To place an ICL or ILL request, simply speak with a library staff member. Items are usually available within 1-2 weeks.

The Embedded Librarian program is intended to establish a librarian presence in online course environments. Faculty members deciding to participate in the program are given access to the Embedded Librarian folder in the MCC Learning Management System (LMS). This folder contains a Librarian contact information, a video introducing library services, and information literacy units that faculty members may select to include in their course. 

There are currently ten information literacy units that faculty may include in their course. There is no limit to the number of units that may be selected. The units are:

Students work through the content of the units (videos, Prezi presentations, written descriptions) at their own pace and then return to the LMS to complete a quiz testing their knowledge of the unit content. The units are most useful to students when they have clearly defined due dates and points/extra credit attached to completion. The faculty member may also request that the librarian attend on-ground sessions in order to provide in-person instruction.

Faculty who are interested in participating should contact their campus librarian to have the Embedded Librarian folders set up in the Schoology course shell. 

Loading ...

Image, Video & Audio Resources

For more information on copyright, fair use and other related issues, please visit the Copyright Information guide.


  What is the Public Domain?

The public domain is a collection of works that are not subject to copyright law.  

When a work is in the public domain, you can freely copy, distribute, display and perform the work, as well as make derivative and commercial works.

There are three classes of public domain works:

  1. Works that automatically enter the public domain upon creation because they are not copyrightable:       

         a)  Titles, names, short phrases and slogans, familiar symbols and numbers

         b)  Ideas, procedures, methods, systems, processes, concepts, principles, discoveries, or devices (as distinguished from a                description, explanation, or illustration)

         c)  Works consisting entirely of information that is common property and contains no original authorship (e.g.,                                standard calendars, height and weight charts, tape measures and rulers)

         d)  Works federal government employees produced within the scope of employment

         e)  Works that have not been fixed in a tangible form of expression (e.g., spontaneous speeches or performances that                      have not been written or recorded)

  2.  Works clearly and explicitly donated to the public domain:

         a)  Creative Commons licenses

         b)  ODC Public Domain Dedication and License (PDDL)

         c)  GNU General Public License

         d)  BSD licenses

  3.  Works that have entered the public domain because the copyright on them has expired:

         a)  All works published in the U.S. before 1923

         b)  All works published with a copyright notice from 1923 through 1963 without copyright renewal

         c)  All works published without a copyright notice from 1923 through 1977

         c)  All works published without a copyright notice from 1978 through March 1, 1989, and without subsequent                                 registration within 5 years 

U.S. Public Domain Chart

 

Copyright of Works First Published in the US by Jappalang is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

To use the Open Attribution Builder select the below link, and enter the information requested. Voila! Your attribution is created. ​

Open Attribution Builder

Open Attribution Builder is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Creative Commons (CClicense is one of several public copyright licenses that enables the free distribution of an otherwise copyrighted work. When an author chooses to give others the right to share, use, or build upon a personal work, he or she uses a CC license. 

There are six CC licenses, distinguished by the bundle of rights allowed: 

From About the Licenses by Creative Commons is licensed under CC BY

For more information see Creative Commons: About the Licenses 

How to Cite 

A good rule of thumb is to use the acronym TASL, which stands for Title, Author, Source, License.

Title - Provide the title of the adopted work and hyperlink to the original source. If a title is not provided, don't worry about including it.

Author - Credit the author. Many times the licensor may want you to give credit to some other entity, like a company or pseudonym, or wants no credit at all - abide by their wishes. Also if the author has a webpage, hyperlink his or her name to the webpage. 

Source - Provide the URL where the work is hosted. 

License - Keep intact any copyright notice associated with the work.  Provide the exact name of the Creative Commons license under which the work was released, and hyperlink the license name to the its deed page. You can use acronyms instead. 

Image attribution example:

"Heart Valve Circulatory" by burlesonmatthew is licensed under CC0.

Mohave Community College Resources:

 

Images:

Open - i [Biomedical Image Search Engine] - Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. 

Orthopedic Surgical Anatomy Teaching Collection -   Includes digital photographs and illustrations of human anatomy dissections. 

Partners Infectious Disease Images The goal of this site is to present images of interesting and instructive Infectious Disease cases to healthcare trainees and professionals for educational purposes. Cases and images within ID images are described using terms from the NLM's Medical Subject Headings. You will need to register for a free account to use the site. Please see the Permissions and Copyright section to learn how to ethically use material from this resource.

Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Created by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. Public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public are welcomed to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.

 

Videos 

CrashCourse Anatomy and PhysiologySeries of free videos by PBS Digital Studios, covering a variety of topics in anatomy and physiology - the heart, urinary system, endocrine and lymphatic systems, muscles, tissues and many others. 

KhanAcademyMedicine - This channel includes Khan Academy videos on Medicine, presented by Rishi Desai, MD.

Khan Academy NCLEX-RN - A collection of questions from content covered on the NCLEX-RN. These questions are available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License (available at http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/us/).

Osmosis - Osmosis.org is a leading medical & health education platform with an audience of over 700,000 current & future clinicians & caregivers.

RegisteredNurseRN - RegisteredNurseRN.com provides FREE NCLEX reviews, skills, school tips, & career help for students and nurses.

Mohave Community College Resources:

Images:

U.S. Government Resources: Historic letters, pamphlets, photographs, and other images digitized and made available by the Library of Congress and National Archives.

Library of Congress: Digital Collections 

Library of Congress: Flickr Photostream

Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog

Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Sets

National Archives Digital Photography Collections

Other Resources:

Dave Rumsey Historical Map Collection -16th through 21st century maps and other types of charts.

Shorpy Historic Photo Archive - Offers historic photographs and prints.

New York Public Library Digital Collections - A massive collection of historic photographs, documents, letters, pamphlets, and other images; browse by collection or key word.

Audio/Video:

Library of Congress: Webcasts - Live presentations and recordings given at the Library of Congress.

Library of Congress: National Jukebox -Offers a wide-range of historical sound recordings.

Library of Congress: YouTube Channel -Contains presentations given at the Library of Congress; also contains historical films and clips.

TED Talks - Offers short talks and lectures on a  range of humanities including history, religion, philosophy, and more.

Prelinger Archives - Contains thousands of advertising, educational, instructional, and amateur films on a variety of topics.

Moving Image Archive - A variety of movies, films, and clips that are in the public domain.

EduTube - Contains educational videos.

Mohave Community College Resources:

Images:

Creative Commons Search Page - Easy way to search many popular sites (YouTube, Flickr, etc.) for Creative Commons resources.

Smithsonian Digital Collections - Search over 14.0 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 3.0 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

Public Domain Sherpa - Annotated index of sites that contain Public Domain images. Includes information on copyright as well.

Audio/Video:

HippoCampus - A free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge.

TED Talks - Offers short talks and lectures on a  range of humanities including history, religion, philosophy, and more.

Moving Image Archive - A variety of movies, films, and clips that are in the public domain.

EduTube - Contains educational videos

Mohave Community College Resources:

Images:

Old Book Illustrations - Beautiful plates from old books now in the Public Domain.

From Old Books - More beautiful plates from old books now in the Public Domain.

BibliOdyssey - Even more beautiful plates from old books now in the Public Domain.

Comic Book + - Archive of comics that are in the Public Domain.

Audio/Video:

HippoCampus - A free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge.

TED Talks - Offers short talks and lectures on a  range of humanities including history, religion, philosophy, and more.

Moving Image Archive - A variety of movies, films, and clips that are in the public domain.

EduTube - Contains educational videos

Mohave Community College Resources:

Images:

U.S. Government Resources:

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - The CDC's Public Health Image Library (PHIL) contains historic images freely available for reference, teaching, and presentations.

National Library of Medicine - Contains over 70,000 digitized images from the 15th to 21st Century including photographs, art, engravings, and posters that demonstrate the history of medicine.

NIH Open Biomedical Search - Contains images related to the health field (medical, dental, and behavioral) including X-rays, photographs, CT scans, MRI's, ultrasounds, and more. 

NASA Images - The Nasa Image Library contains historic photographs from 60 collections

NOAA Photo Library - Contains weather, space, shoreline, coastal, and marine life images related to monitoring the environment of the planet.

Other Sources:

Bio-Image Search (Stanford University) - Contains a host of biomedical images from public domain databases available for use

Cell Image Library - Showcases cell infrastructure with a variety of images, videos, and animations for research and educational purposes.

Audio/Visual:

Open Culture Science Videos - Featuring videos on astronomy, biology, chemistry, physics, psychology, geology, religion, and more.

TED Talks - Offers short talks and lectures on a  range of scientific topics including biology, chemistry, physics, and more.

Virtual Cell Animation Collection - Educational animations from the NDSU Molecular and Cellular Biology Learning Project. 

Mohave Community College Resources:

Images:

Wikipedia Public Domain Images - Great source of Public Domain images.

WikiMedia Commons - A collection of 50,781,436 (and growing) freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Audio/Video:

Khan Academy - Lots of free videos for a wide-range of abilities.

CrashCourse Engineering - Series of free videos by PBS Digital Studios, covering a variety of topics in engineering - fluid dynamics, laws of thermodynamics, nanomaterials and many others. 

CrashCourse Physics - Series of free videos by PBS Digital Studies, covering a variety of topics in physics -  quantum mechanics, magnetism, collisions, derivatives and many others. 

HippoCampus - A free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge.

MIT Audio/Video Lectures - Videos with accompanying assignments, lecture notes, and exams for MIT courses. 

EduTube - Contains educational videos.

Loading ...