LibGuides: Biology 205 (Keating): Most Useful Databases

Medical and Biology Databases

Use the databases below to search for peer-reviewed and research articles. Please see A to Z Database List for a complete list of databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers from almost every area of academic study.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, in addition to evidence-based care sheets.
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to consumer health magazines, current health-related pamphlets and health reference books while covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, women's health and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals covering nursing, allied health and many other medical disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles on medical topics and basic biology, anatomy, and physiology.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals and providing full text for hundreds of journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.

Open Access Biomedical Image (and articles) Search Engine Research articles, review articles, and images from a wide variety of diseases are available. Not all articles will have full text access.

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB)
Bergey's is the most complete and authoritative description of bacterial and archaeal diversity. Provides descriptions of the taxonomy, systematics, ecology, physiology and other biological properties of all described prokaryotic taxa.

Use the databases below to search for peer-reviewed and research articles. Please see A to Z Database List for a complete list of databases.

Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative content in the fields of astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth and environmental sciences, health & medicine, math, and physics.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Find alternative medicine-focused reference information on: medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, pregnancy, and herbal remedies.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Use the databases below to search for peer-reviewed and research articles. Please see A to Z Database List for a complete list of databases.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Research in biology, bio-medicine, and medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Focuses on bio-medical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, psychology and online books.