LibGuides: English 102: English 102

The Postmortal

by Drew Magary

To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee

Slaughterhouse Five

by Kurt Vonnecut

Phantom Tongue

By Steven Sanchez

Lost Children Archive

By Valeria Luiselli

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas

Midnight in Broad Daylight

By Pamela Rotner Sakamoto

Subject Contact

Blaine Hamilton

Email Me

Contact:

3400 Highway 95
Building 700
Bullhead City, AZ
86442

928.704.9465

Subjects: Automotive, Culinary Arts, History

English 102

Academic Search Premier
Full-text articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers from almost every area of academic study.
Credo Reference
Online reference collection with over 900 online encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, biographical sources, and reference tools.
EBSCO eBooks
A collection of multidisciplinary e-books covering a broad range of academic subject areas.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text literary criticism and review articles.
Literature Resource Center
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works and biographies.
LitFinder
Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes full-text poems, poetry citations, short stories, speeches, and plays.

How to Search JSTOR

New to JSTOR search? This short tutorial gives you an overview of how to get started with our basic search and introduces you how to start with advanced searching.

Quick Tips:

Place words within quotation marks to search for exact phrases (“to be or not to be”).
Use Boolean operators to construct a better search (“tea trade” AND china).

Courtesy JSTOR Support

Literature Resource Center - Literary Analysis

This tutorial shows you how to use Literature Resource Center to take your literary analysis to the next level.

Courtesy Gale-Cengage Support

The Norton Field Guide to Writing with Readings and Handbook by Richard H. Bullock; Maureen Daly Goggin; Francine Weinberg
Call Number: PE1408 .B883825 2019
ISBN: 9780393655803
Publication Date: 2018-11-27
The Norton field guide to writing : with readings and handbook by Richard H Bullock, Deborah Bertsch, Maureen Daly Goggin, Francine Weinberg
Call Number: PE1408 .B883825 2022
ISBN: 9780393884135
Publication Date: 2022
They Say / I Say by Cathy Birkenstein; Gerald Graff
Call Number: PE1431 .G73 2018
ISBN: 9780393631678
Publication Date: 2018-06-11
A Writer's Reference with Writing about Literature by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: PE1408 .H2779 2018
ISBN: 9781319133054
Publication Date: 2017-09-12

Searching EBSCO eBooks - Tutorial

With 151,126 titles to choose from, EBSCO eBooks is an excellent choice for research. The easy-to-use platform allows users to cite, save, and print e-book portions, export citations, search within chapters, and share. The tutorial below demonstrates the searching functionality for EBSCO eBooks and how to read eBooks online.

Courtesy EBSCO Support

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of multidisciplinary e-books covering a broad range of academic subject areas.

MLA 8th Edition Template
This template was created and saved as a Word template for Microsoft Word 2016.

Formatting Your MLA Paper

Formatting Your Works Cited Page

The Peer Review Process

So you need to use scholarly, peer-reviewed articles for an assignment...what does that mean?

Peer review is a process for evaluating academic studies before they are published by an academic journal. These studies typically communicate original research or analysis for other researchers.

The Peer Review Process at a Glance:

All About Peer Review

Scholarly articles typically communicate original research or analysis for other researchers, and go through a peer review process before they are published by an academic journal. This brief video takes a closer look at that process and addresses some of its limitations.

All About Peer Review by CSUDH Library is licensed CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Arts and Humanities Research Articles by CSUDH Library is licensed CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Anatomy of a Research Article for Arts & Humanities

Citation Machine
A citation machine is essentially a works cited generator that accesses information from across the web, drawing the relevant information into a fully-formatted bibliography that clearly presents all of the sources that have contributed to your work.
EasyBib
EasyBib is an online tool that helps you create citations in MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian styles. With EasyBib you can create a works cited list and parenthetical (in-text) citations. Make sure to select MLA 8.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab - MLA Style 8th Edition
Features instructional videos that show you how to set up your papers in MLA format, interactive checklists, and visual support for both in-text documenting and referencing at the end of your paper.
MLA Style Center
Writing Resources from the MLA Style Center
OWL Purdue MLA 8th Edition Style Guide
MLA style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world, in all topics.
Bartleby.com
Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing free access to books in public domain.
JSTOR Open Access E-Books
Thousands of monographs across the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Project Gutenberg
Founded in 1971 by American writer Michael S. Hart, Project Gutenberg is the oldest digital library. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of books in the public domain.