Mohave Community College Libraries

Library Event! Finding Info Like a Pro

 

All sessions will last 30 minutes with a 15 minute question and answer period to follow.

Day 1:

June 2, 2021 

3:00 PM – 7:00 PM

 

Get to know your MCC library 3:00 PM

Led by Blaine Hamilton

What does the MCC Libraries website offer you? What services and tools are available to help you with classes? Blaine will lead you on a tour of the library website and show you how to access the library virtual chat, citation guides, database page, subject research guides and much more.

 

How to use the MCC library catalog 4:00 PM

Led by Blaine Hamilton

Learn how to find and access the resources you need through the MCC Libraries catalog. Blaine will show you how to search for books, eBooks, and video resources. Additionally, learn how to request items from other college libraries and MCC campuses through interlibrary loan (ILL) or campus hold requests.

 

Finding articles in an academic database 5:00 PM

Led by Blaine Hamilton

Databases are a wonderful resource for finding information sources and the MCC Libraries have over 50 databases you can access (must be current student or employee). Come join Blaine as he shows you the proper way to search library databases to find journals, newspaper and magazine articles, videos, images and more.

 

Finding quality resources on the web 6:00 PM

Led by Pamela Galovich

Many online sources do not contain information that is accurate or fact checked. That’s why it’s important to make sure you’re using reliable websites for your research with government and educational websites being the most trustworthy. Join Pam as she reviews several options for free, credible resources for academic and personal research.


 

Day 2: 

June 3, 2021

10:00 AM – 3:00 PM

 

What sources should I use for college-level work? 10:00 AM

Led by Pam Galovich

College-level research involves sophisticated scholarly sources. Libraries, archives, databases, and other online materials are all considered appropriate and even necessary sources of information for college-level work. Join Erin as she shares a few resources for where you can begin your hunt for data.

 

Introduction to research and writing 11:00 AM

Led by Erin Roper

Get ready for college-level research and writing with this quick peak at the process of writing a research paper. Erin will discuss picking a paper topic, writing a thesis statement, making an outline and more.

 

Academic integrity in college 12:00 PM

Led by Pam Galovich

You are a serious writer who wants to write well — and correctly! You have probably heard the word plagiarism and would like to understand it better. In this presentation, you will learn what plagiarism is and how to avoid it, why and how we cite our sources, and see a brief overview of the two citation styles used at MCC - MLA and APA.

 

Copyright and plagiarism in the real world 1:00 PM

Led by Erin Roper

Did you know that everything you produce - from your unpublished diary to the drawing you post online - is copyrighted? In this session, you will learn a little bit about copyright and take a look at some famous cases of plagiarism.

 

How to evaluate information 2:00 PM

Led by Erin Roper

What characteristics do you want in your information? Erin will lead you through a discussion on what makes information “good” and give you tools for judging the quality of articles, reports, videos and more.

Choose the itinerary or pathway that best suits your goal . Note: Itineraries are suggestions only; you can pick and choose which sessions to attend based on your needs or interests:

 

Dual, concurrent and summer bridge students (MCC high school students)

Day 1 sessions:

  • Get to know your MCC library
  • How to use the MCC library catalog
  • Finding articles in an academic database

Day 2 sessions:

  • What sources should I use for college-level work?
  • Introduction to research and writing
  • Academic integrity in college

 

College-bound high school students (non-MCC students)

Day 1 sessions:

  • Finding articles in an academic database
  • What sources should I use for college-level work?

Day 2 sessions:

  • Introduction to research and writing
  • Academic integrity in college
  • How to evaluate information

 

Incoming & current MCC students

Day 1 sessions:

  • Get to know your MCC library
  • How to use the MCC library catalog
  • Finding articles in an academic database

Day 2 sessions:

  • What sources should I use for college-level work?
  • Academic integrity in college
  • How to evaluate information

 

4-year transfer students

Day 1 sessions:

  • Get to know your MCC library
  • Finding articles in an academic database
  • Finding quality resources on the web 

Day 2 sessions:

  • What sources should I use for college-level work?
  • Academic integrity in college
  • How to evaluate information

 

Community members

Day 1 sessions:

  • Finding quality resources on the web

Day 2 sessions:

  • Copyright and plagiarism in the real world
  • How to evaluate information 

Pamela Galovich is the librarian for the Lake Havasu City Campus and holds a Master of Arts in Library and Information Science and a Master of Arts in Education. Pam is committed to helping students develop the skills they need to realize their educational goals and ambitions.

Blaine Hamilton is the librarian for the Bullhead City Campus and holds a Master of Arts in Library and Information Science and a Master of Arts in History. Blaine enjoys database research and teaching others how to use them to find articles and other types of information.

 

Erin Roper is the librarian for the Neal Campus Kingman and holds a Master of Arts in Library and Information Science. Erin is dedicated to helping people learn to consume and produce information responsibly and ethically.