Title: MCC Libraries 2-Day Forum Finding Info like a Pro
Date: August 19 - 20, 2021
Where: All sessions are virtual and held on Zoom
Description: How do I find good information in today’s oversaturated world? What’s available to me at an academic library? Are there resources specifically for my program?
Learn the answers to these questions and more at the MCC Library’s 2-Day Forum "Finding Info like a Pro."
MCC librarians Pamela Galovich, Blaine Hamilton and Erin Roper will give you the tools you need to find, understand, evaluate, and use quality information. They’ll address the needs of college-bound students, current college students, and the general public in these 30-minute sessions.
How do I Attend: Zoom meeting room: https://mohave.zoom.us/j/98333157167 OR zoom.us/join Meeting ID: 983 3315 7167.
All sessions include a 30 minute presentation followed by a 15 minute question and answer session.
Day 1:
August 19, 2021
2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Get to know your MCC library 2:00 PM
Led by Blaine Hamilton
What does the MCC Libraries website offer you? What services and tools are available to help you with classes? Blaine will lead you on a tour of the library website and show you how to access the library virtual chat, citation guides, database page, subject research guides and much more.
Finding articles in an academic database 3:00 PM
Led by Blaine Hamilton
Databases are a wonderful resource for finding information sources and the MCC Libraries have over 50 databases you can access (must be current student or employee). Come join Blaine as he shows you the proper way to search library databases to find journals, newspaper and magazine articles, videos, images and more.
Finding quality resources on the web 4:00 PM
Led by Pamela Galovich
Many online sources do not contain information that is accurate or fact checked. That’s why it’s important to make sure you’re using reliable websites for your research with government and educational websites being the most trustworthy. Join Pam as she reviews several options for free, credible resources for academic and personal research.
Day 2:
August 20, 2021
10:00 AM – 3:00 PM
How to evaluate information 10:00 AM
Led by Erin Roper
What characteristics do you want in your information? Erin will lead you through a discussion on what makes information “good” and give you tools for judging the quality of articles, reports, videos and more.
Avoiding plagiarism & using citations 11:00 AM
Led by Pam Galovich
Physical Therapy Assistant Program Library Resources 12:00 PM
Led by Pamela Galovich
Are you a current or prospective Physical Therapy Assistant Program student? Join Pam for an overview of specific library databases and resources that will help you succeed as a PTA student.
Nursing Program Library Resources 1:00 PM
Led by Erin Roper
Are you a current or prospective Nursing Program student? Join Erin for an overview of specific library databases and resources that will help you succeed as a Nursing student.
Career & Technical Education Programs Library Resources 2:00 PM
Led by Erin Roper
Are you a current or prospective Welding, Automotive, HVAC or Electrical student? Join Erin for an overview of specific library databases and resources that will help you succeed as a CTE student.
Pamela Galovich is the librarian for the Lake Havasu City Campus and holds a Master of Arts in Library and Information Science and a Master of Arts in Education. Pam is committed to helping students develop the skills they need to realize their educational goals and ambitions.
Blaine Hamilton is the librarian for the Bullhead City Campus and holds a Master of Arts in Library and Information Science and a Master of Arts in History. Blaine enjoys database research and teaching others how to use them to find articles and other types of information.
Erin Roper is the librarian for the Neal Campus Kingman and holds a Master of Arts in Library and Information Science. Erin is dedicated to helping people learn to consume and produce information responsibly and ethically.
