LibGuides: History: History (Home)

Find peer-reviewed articles within MCC's databases. Please review the "How to Search Databases" guide and "Database Tutorials" before searching (Note: you can also use the Ebsco Mobile App to search for articles).

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, history, psychology, economics and political science.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers from almost every area of academic study.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Contextual information on the world's most influential people.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR I through XV provides access to full-text journal articles spanning 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.

Primary Sources are documents or accounts of events from people who had a direct connection with it. In historical research, primary sources are sources created during the time period being studied. Examples:

Letters, diaries, and speeches
Newspaper articles
Manuscripts
Government documents, reports, and records
Documents, reports, and records from private organizations e.g. the Red Cross
Oral history interviews
Maps
Photographs and videos

Historians use primary sources to interpret and analyze historical events.Historians can look at the same set of primary sources and have different interpretations of the same event. Additionally, if new primary sources are found, then that can change historians interpretation of an event e.g. when the Russian archives were opened up after the collapse of the Soviet Union, documents were found that shed new light on events such as the Russian Revolution and the rise of Joseph Stalin.

Secondary Sources are written or created AFTER an event has taken place and do not provide direct evidence of historical events from people who had a connection with it. Instead, they provide information that has been analyzed or interpreted to provide a specific conclusion about historical events (e.g. the cause of the Cold War). Many secondary sources are written by historians that have interpreted or analyzed primary sources. Examples:

Scholarly articles
Books
Biographies
Documentaries

Primary Source: Analysis
Analysis is the ability to demonstrate an understanding of the elements that contributed to the creation of a historical source. It answers the question: 'Why does this source exist in its current form?'
Primary Source: Evaluation
Once you have successfully analysed your sources, you have enough information to start evaluating their value. The ability to evaluate a source is central to being a great history student. Evaluation is the ability to reach an informed judgment about the value of a source to your historical topic. It answers the question: 'How useful and reliable is this source?'

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Digital collections of primary sources including print, audio, video, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and more
Teaching with Primary Sources
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
U.S. National Archives
Primary sources and primary source activities for student and teachers to utilize in the classroom.

Arizona Historical Society
New York Public Library: Digital Collections
A collection of historic photographs, documents, letters, pamphlets, and other images; browse by collection or key word.
Prelinger Archives
Contains thousands of advertising, educational, instructional, and amateur films on a variety of topics.
Teaching American History
Teaching American History is a free resource that brings together primary documents, continuing education, and community for American history teachers.

Peer-reviewed historical journals with full-text access. If there is an article you want that is within this range, please contact your librarian to submit an article exchange request. Note: This is NOT a complete list of historical journals housed within MCC's databases. Visit MCC's library catalog page to search for specific journals.

American Historical Review Presents articles, review articles, substantial numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history (12 month full-text delay)
Hispanic American Historical Review Articles on all aspects of Latin American history, extensive numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books.
Journal of American History Features a variety of pieces that deal with every aspect of American history, including state-of-the-field essays, broadly inclusive book reviews, and reviews of films, museum exhibitions, and Web sites.
Journal of World History Official journal of the World History Association. Peer reviewed coverage of comparative and cross-cultural themes which describe forces that work their influences across cultures and civilizations.
Cold War History Makes available the results of recent research on the origins & development of the Cold War, its impact on nations, alliances & regions, & in areas such as diplomacy, security, economy, intelligence & the military, & society.
Economic History Review Original contributions in the field of economic and social history, critical essays, notes and comments, and extensive numbers of book reviews.
War & Society Publishes articles on the causes, experience and impact of war in all periods of history.

History

Library Catalog

Library FAQ's