LibGuides: Philosophy: Philosophy

Simone de Beauvoir

The second women's rights movement. (2020). In D. G. Felder, The American women's almanac: 500 years of making history. Visible Ink Press. Credo Reference.

Subject Contact

Erin Roper

Email Me

Contact:

1971 Jagerson Avenue
Building 300
Kingman, Arizona 86409

928-757-0802

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Legal, Math, Philosophy, Religion, Social Issues, Social Science & Humanities

Philosophy

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The best place to begin searching for material on your philosophy assignment. Contains extensive full-text articles on these subjects: Epistemology, History of Philosophy, Moral Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Political Philosophy, and others.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Think of Credo Reference as a scholarly version of Wikipedia. Collect credible background information on your topic or use the Mind Map tool to brainstorm ideas.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains numerous journals that pertain to philosophy topics such as Moral Philosophy, Bioethics and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General academic database that contains a considerable number of articles on philosophy. Recommended for broader, non-specialist topics in the discipline.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
This resource contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects including modern and classic philosophy books. Thousands of books are right at your fingertips!

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: B41 .C35 1999
ISBN: 9780521637220
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
One of the best general reference books on Philosophy in print. Contains entries on thousands of topics and important figures in the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion by Shambhala Publications Staff
Call Number: BL1005 .L4813 1994
ISBN: 9780877739807
Publication Date: 1994-05-10
A great research starter for any assignment that relates to Eastern philosophies such as Buddhism, Taoism, etc.
The Right Thing to Do by James Rachels; Stuart Rachels
Call Number: BJ1012 .R5 2007
ISBN: 9780073125466
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Readings in Moral Philosophy that touch upon many of the controversial issues of the day, such as reproductive rights, poverty, the environment, and more.
The Thinker's Guide to Fallacies by Richard Paul; Linda Elder
Call Number: BC175 .P38 2006
ISBN: 9780944583272
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
An introduction to the most common logical fallacies, and how to spot them in arguments and everyday life.
What Is Ancient Philosophy? by Pierre Hadot; Michael Chase (Translator)
Call Number: B172 .H33513 2002
ISBN: 9780674007338
Publication Date: 2002-06-17
A survey of the teachings of the ancient philosophers like Plato and Aristotle, combined with thoughts of how their teachings can be applied in modern times.

Directory of Open Access Journals - Philosophy Subject Search
The DOAJ connects you to thousands of full-text articles made freely available by open-access journals.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A peer-reviewed resource with entries on the most important figures and movements in philosophy's history.
Introduction to Philosophy - University of Edinburgh
This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) is not affiliated with MCC. It is a free and interesting course that will familiarize you with many of the basic concepts of philosophy!
Khan Academy - Philosophy
Khan Academy brings you high-quality, free educational videos on many subjects. Their Wi-Phi philosophy video series touches on many of the most important philosophical topics.
Philosophy Now Magazine Online
A periodical devoted to current and traditional issues in philosophy. Contains many free, full-text articles.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Entries written by subject matter experts - free to use.