LibGuides: Psychology: Psychology

Psychology

Subject Contact

Erin Roper

Email Me

Contact:

1971 Jagerson Avenue
Building 300
Kingman, Arizona 86409

928-757-0802

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Legal, Math, Philosophy, Religion, Social Issues, Social Science & Humanities

Psychology

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Another general research database with strong holdings in Psychology
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of multidisciplinary e-books covering a broad range of academic subject areas.
PsyArXiv This link opens in a new window
PsyArXiv (psychology archive) is designed to facilitate rapid dissemination of psychological research. PsyArXiv is a creation of the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science (SIPS) and the Center for Open Science (COS).
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides full-text articles for the subjects of psychology and behavioral sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Focuses on bio-medical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, psychology and online books.

All About Peer Review (2:58 minutes)

Scholarly articles typically communicate original research or analysis for other researchers, and go through a peer review process before they are published by an academic journal. The below video below takes a closer look at that process.

Looking for peer-reviewed articles? Trying searching in a library database and look for options to limit your results to peer-reviewed or academic journals.

All About Peer Review by CSUDH Library is licensed CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Click on the image to explore the typical parts of a scholarly article. Anatomy of a Scholarly Article by the North Carolina State University Libraries is licensed under CC-BY-NC-SA.

Selections from the DSM-5
A list of ebooks that contain some sections from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5).

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
This resource contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects including psychology. Thousands of books are right at your fingertips!

50 Psychology Classics by Tom Butler-Bowdon
Call Number: BF76.8 .B88 2007
ISBN: 9781857883862
Publication Date: 2006-11-16
Includes excerpts and explanations of famous works in psychology by Freud, Skinner, Piaget, Maslow and others.
American Psychiatric Association Publihb by Schatzberg NEMEROFF
Call Number: RC537 .A545 2002
ISBN: 9781615373314
Publication Date: 2022-06-16
The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Mood Disorders, Second Edition, provides an authoritative, comprehensive, and evidence-based synthesis of current knowledge in the multifaceted field of mood disorders
Beyond Freedom and Dignity by B.F. Skinner
Call Number: BF698.9.C8 S57 1971
ISBN: 9780872206274
Publication Date: 2002-03-15
Presents the argument that man's environment must be changed rather than man himself if the traditional goals of the struggle for freedom and dignity are to be reached.
Co-Occurring Disorders by Charles Atkins
Call Number: RC564 .A88 2021
ISBN: 9781683733829
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
Dr. Charles Atkins, board-certified psychiatrist, addictions specialist, and clinical trainer, brings the latest on effective treatment and recovery with Co-Occurring Disorders: A Whole-Person Approach to the Assessment and Treatment of Substance Use and Mental Disorders (2nd edition).
Developmental Psychology by Paul C. Quinn (Editor); Alan M. Slater (Editor)
Call Number: BF713 .D48 2012
ISBN: 9780857027573
Publication Date: 2012-10-19
An introduction to the classic studies in developmental psychology.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Kernberg
Call Number: RC455.2 .C4 D536 2013
ISBN: 9780890425558
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders. This is the standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field.
The Psychology of Eating Disorders by Christine L. B. Selby
Call Number: RC552 .E18 S44 2019
ISBN: 9780826155016
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
This is a concise, accessible introduction to eating disorders for undergraduate and graduate students in psychology, as well as those specializing in health education and nutrition.

APA Library Research in Psychology
This page is maintained by the American Psychology Association. It includes links both to APA resources and those that the APA deems generally reliable. A reputable place to begin your psychology research online.
Electronic Journals and Periodicals
An index of psychologically related electronic journals, conference proceedings, and other periodicals. Updated on a regular basis- includes links and notes to indicate where full text is available.
National Institute of Mental Health
Governmental agency which conducts original research on the spectrum of mental health issues. The website contains information on their initiatives and links to further resources.
Social Psychology Network
Site that covers many aspects of psychology, from clinical and community psychology, developmental psychology, cultural psychology, applied psychology, cognitive science, and more. (description from Society of General Psychology)

Communication and Conflict in Couples and Families Video Series
Two UCLA Professors deliver a set of free videos regarding the psychology of marriage and associated topics.
MERLOT Open Access Resources in Psychology
A considerable selection of course materials, podcasts, and assorted media. All available to you for free through many well-respected institutions!
MIT Open Courses in Psychology, Brain, and Cognitive Sciences
MIT offers several courses on psychology-related topics, including an introduction to psychology course.

NCSU Libraries Citation Builder
North Carolina State University Libraries Citation Builder for APA 7th ed., and MLA 8th ed.
APA Style Guide - Purdue Writing Lab
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.

Student Sample Paper APA 7th edition
Sample of a student paper using APA, 7th edition. Courtesy Antioch University Writing Center.

APA Cheat Sheet
General guidelines for APA in-text and references page citations. Courtesy South Texas College