Use the resources below to browse for topic ideas and/or to gather background information on the disease you choose. Note: This is not a complete list of eBooks on biological diseases. Other eBooks on this topic (and many others) are available through MCC's eBook databases. Note: eBooks are not peer-reviewed articles.
Encyclopedia of Heart Diseases by
The Encyclopedia of Heart Diseases is an accurate and reliable source of in-depth information on the diseases that kill more than 12 million individuals worldwide each year. In fact, cardiovascular diseases are more prevalent than the combined incidence of all forms of cancer, diabetes, asthma and leukemia. In one volume, this Encylopedia thoroughly covers these ailments and also includes in-depth analysis of less common and rare heart conditions to round out the volume's scope. Researchers, clinicians, and students alike will all find this resource an invaluable tool for quick reference before approaching the primary literature. * Coverage of more than 200 topics, including: applied pharmacology of current and experimental cardiac drugs, gene therapy, MRI, electron-beam CT, PET scan put in perspective, cardiac tests costs and justification, and new frontiers in cardiovascular research * More than 150 helpful figures and illustrations! * Dr. Khan is a well-published and respected expert in heart and heart diseases
Manual of Skin Diseases by
Trusted by generations of medical students, residents, and non-specialist practitioners, Sauer's Manual of Skin Diseases continues the tradition of excellence in the fully updated 11th Edition. This bestselling dermatology manual provides full-color photographs, step-by-step instructions, and easy-to-follow algorithms for diagnosis and treatment of all common skin conditions. The practical, user-friendly format consists of two distinct parts: the first part covers the diagnosis and management of the most commonly seen skin diseases. The second part is a comprehensive Dictionary-Index to the entire field of dermatology, including rare diseases and unusual dermatologic terms. Key Features: Features new chapters on Contact Dermatitis, Cutaneous Drug Reactions, Ulcer Management, Vasculitis, Skin Diseases in the Military, and Skin Disease in the Abused Patient. Includes more than 700 full-color photographs, as well as diagnostic algorithms based on site, type of lesion, and age of patient. Covers ethnic skin, the skin and internal disease, pediatric dermatology, skin aging, obesity and dermatology, skin disease in transplant patients, sports medicine in dermatology, cutaneous signs of bioterrorism, dermatoses of pregnancy, and many more specialized areas. Continues Dr. Sauer's commitment to simple, basic, and concise dermatology guidance for primary care practitioners, students, and others who need to effectively diagnose and treat common skin disorders. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Human Diseases by
This book on "Human Diseases" is written with a view to meet curricular requirements of students at undergraduate and post graduate levels of Indian Universities. Diseases are illnesses impairing the normal physiological functioning of living organisms. The causative agents are virus, bacteria, protozoans, helminthes and others. The diseases chosen for this book are: measles, smallpox, chickenpox, AIDS, Ebola, Dengue, cholera, leprosy, tuberculosis, typhoid, malaria, amoebiasis, Diarrhoea, Filariasis, Cancer and Jaundice. The text describes causative agents, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, epidemiology and history of all 16 diseases. A table containing these factors has also been included for the convenience of readers to have an immediate idea about these human diseases.
An Overview of Major Diseases Occurring in the Americas by
Tropical Diseases: An Overview of Major Diseases Occurring in the Americas offers an overview of neglected tropical diseases found in the Americas. Information in the book addresses the understanding of challenges faced in controlling these diseases and brings new insight on many important aspects of these diseases. Chapters of this volume explore many related topics, including epidemiological data, immune response and pathogenesis, and the current methods for diagnosis and treatment, thus providing a useful resource for readers (undergraduate, graduate and Ph.D. students as well as biologists and medical researchers). Key features of this book include: clear and objective topic-by-topic information on tropical diseases in the American region with additional information about diseases in other regions useful knowledge for research projects and clinical practice written by experienced health professionals coverage of several diseases such as cutaneous and visceral leishmaniasis (Kala-azar), Chagas disease, sleeping sickness, schistosomiasis, dengue fever, bacterial infections, fungal systemic infection and tuberculosis. information on key strategies for disease control including improved diagnostics, in silico drug development and vaccine control
Search for eBook specific to your topic as a way of finding background information. Note: eBooks are not peer-reviewed articles.
A collection of premier reference and handbooks for multidisciplinary research that users can view and search online.
Reference databases are useful for gathering background information on your topic.
Reference databases typically contain encyclopedia and review article entries. They can also be very useful for browsing for topic ideas. These are not the databases to use to find peer reviewed or research articles.
Online reference collection with over 900 online encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, biographical sources, and reference tools.
In-depth, unbiased reports on social issues, international affairs, the environment, technology and the economy.
