Mohave Community College Libraries

This page is here to help you research and find materials specific to your subject.

MCC Library Information

Southern Campuses (Bullhead City, Kingman, Lake Havasu City)

Fall and Spring Semester
Monday - Thursday:
8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday:
10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Summer
Monday - Thursday:
8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday - Sunday:
Closed

North Mohave Campus

Fall and Spring Semester
Monday - Thursday:
8 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday:
Closed
Summer
Monday - Thursday:
8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday - Sunday:
Closed

Hargrove Library - Bullhead City Campus Library

3400 Highway 95

Bullhead City, AZ 86442

Telephone: 928.758.2420

Equipment and Services Available

  • 30 student computers, including ADA-compliant stations
  • 3 flatbed scanners
  • 1 Canon printer with copying and scanning technology
  • Headphones, microphones, wireless mouse, and speakers available for in-library checkout
  • 5 study rooms
  • 4 cubicles for quiet study
  • 1 Mac studio
  • 1 collaborate study room, w/monitor and wireless equipment
  • 4 public computers with no printing capabilities
  • Assistance with Schoology and related technology
  • Reference and research assistance
  • Textbooks on reserve for selected courses (in-library use only)
  • Interlibrary and intercampus loan for books, articles and more
  • Approximately 13,000 physical books, audiobooks, DVDs, and journals

Hodel Library - Lake Havasu City Campus Library

1977 Acoma Blvd. W.

Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403

Telephone: 928.453.5809

Equipment and Services Available 

  • 24 student computers
  • 1 Canon printer with copying and scanning technology
  • Headphones, microphones, wireless mouse, and speakers available for in-library checkout
  • 6 Kindle Fire Tablets available for in-library checkout
  • 3 study rooms
  • 1 collaborate study room, w/monitor and wireless equipment
  • 1 public computer (no printing capabilities)
  • Assistance with Schoology and related technology
  • Reference and research assistance
  • Textbooks on reserve for selected courses (in-library use only)
  • Interlibrary and intercampus loan for books, articles and more
  • Approximately 13,000 physical books, audiobooks, DVDs, and journals

Neal Campus - Kingman Campus Library

1971 Jagerson Ave.

Kingman, AZ 86409

Telephone: 928.757.0856

Equipment and Services Available

  • 16 Student Computers, including ADA-compliant stations
  • 1 Canon printer with copying and scanning capability
  • Headphones available for in-library checkout
  • 3 tables for quiet study
  • Public Computers, with no printing capabilities
  • 1 flatbed scanner
  • Assistance with Schoology and related technology
  • Reference and research assistance
  • Textbooks on reserve for selected courses (in-library use only)
  • Interlibrary and intercampus loan for books, articles and more

North Mohave - Colorado City Campus Library

480 So. Central

Colorado City, AZ 86021

Telephone: 928.875.2799

Equipment and Services Available

  • Computers available for students and the public
  • Printers with copying and scanning capability
  • Headphones available for in-library checkout
  • Study area
  • Assistance with Schoology and related technology
  • Reference and research assistance
  • Textbooks on reserve for selected courses (in-library use only)
  • Interlibrary and intercampus loan for books, articles and more

Visit MCC Libraries on our Facebook page!

https://www.facebook.com/mcclibrary

Loading

Library Guidelines

Mission Statement:

The MCC Library is a learning-centered environment that is committed to supporting the college's mission of discovery, innovation and empowerment by providing access to quality resources that meet the needs of our user community.

Vision Statement:

Looking to the future, the library seeks to create a learning commons environment, to provide material in formats to meet the needs of our community, and to foster information literacy skills in our diverse patrons.

  • General Collection - This encompasses each campus library and contains over 35,000 items. The collection includes books, DVDs, audio books, and new release novels. 
  • Periodical Collection - Each library includes a collection of magazines, journals, and local and national newspapers. 
  • Electronic Resources - The library offers eBooks that can be read online. In addition, over 20 databases are available, which provide a variety of resources for research assignments. 

A. Introduction and Purpose - The purpose of the Collection Development Guidelines is to guide the Mohave Community College Library in assuring quality and relevance in the acquisition and retention of materials in a collection designed to support the mission and purpose of the college as stated in the current edition of the college catalog.

B. Philosophy of Selection - All materials acquired by the library should reflect resource needs of Mohave Community College. This underlying principle will determine such basic matters as type, quality and scope of resources to be acquired. The library will maintain an up-to-date, comprehensive and well-rounded collection of materials that will reflect one or more of the following:

  1. Curriculum support
  2. Professional growth and support of faculty and administration
  3. Service to the community as an information center
  4. Extracurricular or recreational interests
  5. General information

C. Responsibility for Selection - The ultimate responsibility for materials selection rests, by law, with the Board of Governors. The president, operating within the framework of the Board policies, delegates the responsibility to the Campus Librarians.

It is a professional responsibility of faculty to make recommendations in their respective disciplines and to incorporate library materials into course development. Because the librarians can best judge the balance of the total collection and have daily access to current reviewing media, final acquisition decisions rest with them. Campus Librarians have an obligation to work closely with faculty, staff and students in coordinating the selection of materials and building a collection that is a true reflection of the resource needs of the college.

D. Principles of Resource Selection - The Mohave Community College Library is committed to the principles supported by the American Library Bill of Rights in that it provides:

  1. Materials that will enrich and support the curriculum, taking into consideration the varied interests, abilities and maturity level of the users served;
  2. Materials that will stimulate growth in factual knowledge, literacy appreciation, aesthetic values and ethical standards;
  3. Materials that supply a background of information that enable users to make intelligent judgments in their everyday lives;
  4. Materials on opposing sides of controversial issues, so that students may develop the practice of critical reading and thinking;
  5. Materials representative of many religious, ethnic and cultural groups;
  6. Materials on various learning and interest levels necessary to complement the open door policy of the community college.

Additional considerations include the following:

  1. Acquisition of materials for new courses and programs in the curriculum will be given the highest priority.
  2. Materials dealing with Mohave County and Arizona shall be acquired before acquiring similar materials about other states.
  3. Materials for faculty research will be acquired only if the materials might also be useful to students. Whenever possible, faculty research will be supported by acquiring materials through interlibrary loan.

E. Guidelines by Format of Material

  • Books - For greater durability, hardbound editions are generally the preferred format. Paperbacks, however, are purchased for topics that change rapidly, when duplicate copies of a specific book are needed, if a hardcover edition is unavailable, or if the title requires frequent replacement.
  • Textbooks - The library generally does not purchase the specific edition of a textbook used in a college course; however, instructors may place copies on reserve. Workbooks and study guides are not purchased.
  • Periodicals and Newspapers - Acquisition will be determined by the same general criteria that are used in the selection of all materials.
  • Non-Print Materials - Acquisitions will be determined by the same general criteria that are used in the selection of all materials.

F. Collection Maintenance - Evaluation of the library collection is undertaken as time and other duties permit, recognizing that identification of obsolete and outdated materials is the professional responsibility of the librarian. Faculty members are encouraged to survey their subject areas and recommend additions to and withdrawals from the collection. Seldom used or damaged materials are withdrawn from the collection. These items and lost items are replaced at the discretion of the Librarian.

If materials no longer meet the acquisition criteria, they may be withdrawn. Efforts will be made to see if faculty or other agencies can use the materials before they are given away to the general public.

G. Archives and Special Collections - The archives of Mohave Community College will consist of college publications such as catalogs, periodicals, handbooks, reports, yearbooks and brochures housed at each campus. Each campus will have a "Special Collection" of materials that will be developed based upon the following criteria:

  1. Local and regional emphasis
  2. Local and regional historical relevance
  3. Rare or out-of-print materials of a significant nature

H. Donations - The library welcomes gifts and accepts them with the understanding that the materials will be evaluated according to the same standards as items that the library purchases. Donations that are not suited to the library collection because of age, format, topic, physical condition or other factors will be distributed to other agencies, placed on the free cart, or disposed of in some other manner.

In accordance with Arizona State retention schedules, the library does not maintain a copy of donation records. Donors will be given a "Library Donation Form" which they may complete for their own records. Library staff will not make appraisals of materials either for resale value or statements of donation for income tax reports.

I. Questioned or Challenged Materials - The Mohave Community College Library does not add or withdraw materials at the specific request of any individual or group. Any individual or group questioning the appropriateness of materials in the collection may complete a "Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials" form. The request will be reviewed according to the collection development review procedure.

J. Review Procedure - The challenger must fill out a "Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials Form" and give the form to one of the Campus Librarians.

The Librarian and/or the Dean of Instruction will reply to the "Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials" in writing within 30 days of receipt.

If the complainant is not satisfied with the reply, she/he can request that the complaint be forwarded to the College President for review.

 

Basic Borrowing Rules

  1. Students wishing to check out library materials will use their photo ID, library card, or Big Horn One card.
  2. Community borrowers must get a Mohave Community College library card in order to check out library materials and access online databases.
  3. All damaged or lost materials shall be paid for or replaced by the patron to the satisfaction of the Librarian. To prevent damage, media items should be returned to the circulation desk.
  4. Patrons are responsible for all materials charged to their card and may not loan their library card to others. The library should be notified if a card is lost or stolen.
  5. MCC students, faculty and staff may check out ten items at a time, with up to five DVDs. Community patrons may check out five items at a time, with up to two DVDs.
  6. Materials may be requested from another MCC campus or through Interlibrary Loan.

Loan Period

  1. Most books and audiobooks are loaned for a period of four weeks. DVDs are loaned for a period of one week.
  2. Circulation of course reserves and periodicals varies by item and campus location, but some items may be limited to in-library use only.
  3. Materials may be renewed twice, unless there is an outstanding request for the item. If the patron wishes to renew an item more than twice, the item must be physically brought in to the library and renewed in-person by library staff.

Library Cards

  1. MCC students, faculty and staff, as well as people residing in Mohave County and nearby communities, may apply for a free library card at any of the campus libraries. Applicants must show a form of photo identification at time of application. Acceptable forms of ID include: Student ID/Big Horn One card, driver's license, or other government issued photo ID. A current mailing address is also required at time of application. Parents or legal guardians shall be responsible for all materials checked out by immediate members of the family under the age of 18 years. A library application form with the signature of a parent or legal guardian must be on file before a card will be issued to a person under the age of 18, unless the youth is a registered student at Mohave Community College. The library application must be signed by the parent and minor in the presence of library staff.
  2. Please notify the library immediately if a library card has been lost or stolen. Unless notice is received by the library, patrons are responsible for any materials charged to lost or stolen library cards.
  3. There is no charge for a replacement library card and you may obtain a replacement at the circulation desk at any campus library.
  4. Notify the library staff if there has been a change of address, email, or phone number.

Requested Materials

  1. The library supplies Inter-campus and Inter-library loan (ILL) borrowing services to student, faculty, staff, and public patrons.
  2. Requests are filled in the order they are received.
  3. Requested materials will be held for five (5) working days after the patron has been notified by telephone, or seven (7) working days after a notice has been sent by mail.
  4. Given that ILL items are from outside libraries, the library strictly enforces due dates. A patron who is 8 or more days late in returning ILLs will not be allowed to place future requests. Extenuating circumstances (illness, making previous arrangements for return, etc.) will be decided by the librarian.

Delinquent Accounts

  1. Patrons are considered delinquent when one or more items are overdue. The library does not charge overdue fines, however a delinquent patron will not be allowed to check out additional materials until all items are returned or paid for.
  2. The library has established the following system for informing patrons of late items:
    • 3 days before items are due - patron receives email reminder
    • Due date - items become overdue if not returned
    • 7 days after due date - patron is emailed notice about overdue books
    • 30 days after due date - patron is mailed billing indicating their books are now long overdue.
    • 15 days after date of mailing - patron information along with billing is forwarded to MCC's business office. The patron's account is placed on temporary suspension and a note is added to their library account indicating they have been sent a bill.
  3. Accounts placed on financial hold are cleared only after all materials have been returned to the college library or payment for any damage or loss is received to the satisfaction of the Librarian.
  4. Accounts with more than $100 in replacement fees will be sent to an outside collection agency.
  5. Patron accounts with two notes indicating they have been billed for items will be placed on suspension and the patron will be unable to check out materials for 6 months.

*The term "materials," as used throughout this guideline, includes any library item which is loaned to a library patron including, but not limited to, books, non-print items (audio/video), and equipment.

Mohave Community College libraries provide computer and Internet access in support of the information and research needs of our students and the public. In addition to Mohave students, faculty and staff, this access is provided to the general public as a public service. This access is a privilege not a right. The following guidelines have been established to manage limited resources effectively and to protect the rights and privacy of patrons. Patrons who use library computers or hardware in an inappropriate manner will be asked to desist and may lose their computer privileges altogether.

Access

  1. The library provides computers, subscribed databases and Internet access, at no charge, to Mohave students, faculty, staff and the public.
  2. Students receive 400 free print pages as part of their tuition. Any additional pages must be purchased at Student Services at a rate of 7 cents per print page. Printing for community users is not available at the Southern Campuses. Students and community users are charged 10 cents per page for use of the library's photocopier.
  3. Each campus has computers available for community users. Community users will be asked to give up the computer they are using if students are waiting for a computer. Patrons must limit their computer use to 30 minutes if other patrons are waiting.
  4. In order to use designated computers, community users must provide legal identification, for example, a driver's license or government issued identification card. 

Appropriate Use

  1. The library makes no specific stipulation regarding what information may or may not be accessed. However, computers must be used in compliance with these guidelines, the Mohave Community College Student Code of Conduct, the Mohave Community College Internet Usage Policy and all applicable local, state and federal laws.
  2. Using library computers to display or transmit images or information that is offensive to others is prohibited.
  3. Using library computers to deliberately harass any person is prohibited.
  4. Online or other computer games are prohibited.
  5. Financial transactions and online shopping using library computers are not advised.
  6. Using library computers to conduct, advertise or operate a private business is prohibited.
  7. Patrons may not install software on any library computer nor run any programs from their own software.
  8. Writing to the hard drive, tampering with or altering the configuration of any equipment is prohibited.
  9. Users shall not abuse or deliberately damage any library computer nor use any library computer to compromise the security of, or tamper with, any other computer system or network at Mohave Community College or elsewhere.
  10. Patrons must use the Library's hardware, such as printers and scanners, as instructed by staff. If patrons are found to be misusing or abusing the Library's hardware, their Library privileges may be revoked.

The library staff tries to maintain a classroom setting for students and public guests alike.  To uphold our efforts, requests may be directed toward the students or public guests that may not fall under the library policies.

 

 

Mohave Community College Library is open to the public; however, Mohave Community College does not and cannot take responsibility for the well-being of children in the library. The safety and security of the children are the responsibility of the parent or adult caregiver. Therefore, for the protection and well-being of children and in consideration of other patrons using the library, the following guidelines have been established.

Guidelines

  1. The responsibility for the safety and well-being of children using the library rests with the parents/guardian or assigned caregiver, not with library personnel.
  2. Children under the age of 12 should be under the direct supervision of an adult who assumes responsibility for them. The parents of children who create a disturbance will be asked to remove them.
  3. Children ages 12 or older may use the library unattended as long as they observe the rules of common courtesy and do not create a disturbance. If a child wishes to leave the library, the library staff cannot legally detain him/her.
  4. Extremely disruptive children will be barred from the library for a stipulated period of time.

Staff Procedures

  1. If a child under the age of 12 has been left unattended and does not seem to be frightened or disruptive, library staff will attempt to inform the child's guardian of the library's unattended children guidelines.
  2. If a child under the age of 12 is frightened or disruptive, library staff will notify the administrator on duty who will then attempt to find the guardian. When possible, the child should remain in the library. In all cases, library staff is authorized to use their best judgment in order to deal with a disruptive child, including calling the police.
  3. If a minor (any child under the age of 18) is left unattended at the library at closing time, library staff will contact the administrator on duty to determine a course of action; this may include calling the police.

If you have materials in good condition that you no longer want, please consider donating them to the MCC libraries.

All donations will be evaluated according to the same standards as items that the library purchases. Donated items not suited to the library collection because of age, format, topic, physical condition, or other factors will be distributed to other agencies, placed on our free carts or disposed of in some other manner.

Your donations may be tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. Please note that we are unable to provide an appraisal of donations.

The library does not keep a copy of donation records. Donors will be given a "Library Donation Form" which they may use to complete their own records.

Loading

Location Maps

MCC Kingman Library

MCC Bullhead City Library

 

MCC Lake Havasu City Library

MCC Colorado City Library