LibGuides: Mohave Community College Libraries: Home (Search Here)

Today's Hours

Southern Campuses

North Mohave

Library FAQs

Search our FAQ knowledge bank at LibAnswers for answers to frequently asked questions.

Contact Us

You can also ask us a question via email or text, and we’ll get back to you with an answer or a referral.

askalibrarian@mohave.edu

9282324430

Virtual one-on-one assistance can also be made with a subject specialist. Contact askalibrarian@mohave.edu for a virtual appointment.

Special Events

Simplify Your Spending and Saving Strategies presented by Ron Hawley, Financial Advisor, Edward Jones | March 29 at 4 P.M. | Location: Hodel Library, MCC Campus Lake Havasu City (Building 1200). Please call 928-453-5809 to RSVP for the event.

Grimms' Fairy Tales with Dr. Albrecht Classen | March 29 at 1 P.M. | Location: Hargrove Library, MCC Campus Bullhead City (Building 700). Please call 928.704.9465 for more information.

No other collection of fairy tales has enjoyed such a popularity all over the world as the one by the Brothers Grimm. They were not newly composed by these two philologists, but collected from oral and written sources. Since the first anthology was published in 1812, the Grimms’ Fairy Tales have enjoyed a global success.

Simplify Your Spending and Saving Strategies presented by Ron Hawley, Financial Advisor, Edward Jones | April 19 at 4 P.M. | Location: Hodel Library, MCC Campus Lake Havasu City (Building 1200). Please call 928-453-5809 to RSVP for the event.

Welcome Students!

New to MCC Libraries? Click the red arrow to get started!

Search Library Resources

Use the search boxes above to search every EBSCOhost or Gale database at once or pick and choose which database(s) to search by going to the "A to Z Database List" page. I need to watch a database tutorial video.

Direct Link to MCC's Catalog

Search the catalog for books, audiobooks, print journals, DVDs (and more) available at MCC's four campus libraries. Items from non-MCC libraries are available to students and patrons who submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request.

Search for scholarly literature from around the web, including articles and books. Items may not be available in full-text, ask library staff about acquiring these items. Note: Before searching Google Scholar, make sure to enable "Library Links" found on on page 3 of the Using Google Scholar handout.

Sources found using Google Scholar should be evaluated for credibility before use. Avoid theses and dissertations.

Please use the following link to access Google Scholar from off campus: Google Scholar

For more information about Google Scholar please click here.

Please see these helpful handouts for assistance with research skills and databases. Handout are organized alphabetically by topic.

Articles and Research

Anatomy of a Research Article Provides an overview of the parts of a research article.
Choosing Keywords Learn the basic steps to choosing the most effective keywords to perform searches in library databases.
How to Search Databases/Boolean Searching Provides an overview of how to search library databases including choosing keywords, Boolean operators, nesting and search fields
Paraphrasing Information Explains the difference between quoting, paraphrasing, and summarizing information.
Primary Research Article What is a primary research article and how can I find one?
Research Worksheet
Researching at the Library Reviews basic library search terms necessary to know for research papers or projects.
Search Engines vs. Library Databases Describes the different types of information available from an internet search vs. searching a database.
Summarizing Information Explains the difference between quoting, paraphrasing, and summarizing information?

Citation and Format

APA Guide (reference list) A printable handout of the most common types of reference page citations for APA 7th Edition references.
APA Citation Guide (in-text) Provides an overview of basic in-text citation for APA 7th edition (with examples) and lists commonly asked student questions.
APA Student Paper Setup Guide This guide will help you set up an APA Style student paper. The basic setup directions apply to the entire paper. Annotated diagrams illustrate how to set up the major sections of a student paper: the title page or cover page, the text, tables and figures, and the reference list.
APA Student Title Page Guide Student guide to correctly style and format your paper according to APA 7th Edition.
APA Template Template for APA 7th edition papers. Complete format guidelines can be reviewed on the Citations & Research page.
APA Transition Words/Phrases Common words and phrases used in APA style papers to ensure smooth transition between sentences and paragraphs.
MLA Citation Guide This easy to use guide demonstrates some of the more common types of reference entries and in-text citation formats for MLA

Copyright

Creative Commons CC 0 vs. Public Domain Creative Commons licenses supports two distinct public domain tools, the CC0 Public Domain Dedication and the Public Domain Mark.
Creative Commons Licenses Describes the six types of creative commons licenses.
Fair Use Checklist The Fair Use Check List helps you determine if your use of a copyrighted work falls under the standard of "fair use."

CQ Researcher Database

Create an Account Instructions for how and why you should set up a personal account or profile with CQ Researcher.
Introduction Guide This guide will provide you with a basic overview of the features available on CQ Researcher.
Sample Searches This handout demonstrates how to perform a search in CQ Researcher and the features that are available.

Credo Reference Database

Advanced Search Briefly explains how to use the Advanced Search feature in CREDO online Reference database.
Basic Search Briefly explains how to use the Basic Search feature in CREDO online Reference database.
Find a Book Explains how to find reference books on your topic or create title lists in Credo
Mind Map Tutorial Explains how to use the Credo Mind Map feature. The Mind Map will help you find (and narrow down) topics and find related keywords search terms you can use on other databases.
Real Time Reference Offers fact-based background information on the most important social issues in the news today.
Topic Pages Topic Pages bring together much of your e-resource content - both Credo and non-Credo – all on one topic, all on one linkable page.
Video Content Use the tips on this demonstration to help you find the video content available in your Credo collection.

EBSCOhost Databases

Create an EBSCO Account How to create and manage a My EBSCOhost to save research articles and notes.
eBooks (check-out & download) Step by step directions for how to check-out and download EBSCO eBooks to your computer.
eBooks (mobile devices) Directions for how to check out, download, and view EBSCO eBooks on mobile devices (Apple and Android). Make sure you have created an EBSCOhost account first. Note: your institution will be "Mohave Community College" in Kingman, AZ (regardless of what campus you attend).
eBooks (searching) Learn how tow to search for eBooks on the "EBSCO eBooks" database.
Fact or Fiction? Use these 10 tips from EBSCO to determine if an internet source is credible.
Features of Advanced Search Provides a brief overview of the features of the Advanced Search Screen and the Advanced Results screen in EBSCO databases.
MEDLINE MEDLINE is a full-text database providing health professionals and researchers access to top tier biomedical and health journals. In this tutorial, you will learn how conduct searches on MEDLINE as well as how to use the features of the result list. Please note, while MEDLINE Complete is used in this demonstration, much of this tutorial also applies to EBSCO’s other MEDLINE products.
Mobile App Step by step tutorial for downloading and using the EBSCO Mobile App to Apple or Android devices. The mobile app can be used to view and save articles and check out eBooks (see eBook handout). Make sure you have created an EBSCOhost account first.Note: your institution will be "Mohave Community College" in Kingman, AZ (regardless of what campus you attend).
Taking Electronic Notes for Articles Learn how to create electronic notes for articles found in EBSCOhost databases. MUST CREATE an EBSCO account
Taking Electronic Notes for eBooks Learn how to create electronic notes for articles found in EBSCOhost eBooks. MUST CREATE an EBSCO account.
Using Fields and Limiters in Advanced Search Provides an overview of the fields and limiters in the advanced search for any EBSCO database. For an explanation on how to utilized Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) please see the "How to Search Databases" handout. Applicable to ALL EBSCO databases.

Gale Databases

Academic OneFile Gale's premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Biography In Context Biography In Context profiles the world’s most influential people. You’ll find premium biographical entries, news articles, videos, and primary sources covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Understand contemporary and historical figures, and inspire your own life course with Biography. GALE
Book Review Index Online Book Review Index provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic, and professional interests. You will find thousands of indexed publications, including journals and national general interest publications and newspapers.
Gale eBooks Gale eBooks makes it possible to pinppoint trusted reference materials wherever and whenever you want. You’ll find encyclopedias and specialized sources from top publishers selected by your library or institution. Browse, search, and download chapters to your heart’s content with premium content on Gale eBooks.
Gale Literary Sources Gale Literary Sources brings together your premier Gale literary content in a single cross-search experience. You’ll find intuitive search features and user-friendly tools that allow you to discover unique themes and analyze works in entirely new ways. Breathe life into the study of literature with Gale Literary Sources.
Gale PowerSearch Tip Sheet Gale’s PowerSearchplatform offers comprehensive access to authoritative reference, periodical and primary source information --"giving more power to the user."PowerSearchis also a time saving tool as it cross-searches across several Gale resources.
Gale Tools Learn the tools available for use in Gale Databases when you are searching for articles or other resources. Tools available include Topic Finder, Electronic Notes and Highlighting, and more.
General OneFile General OneFile provides millions of articles from thousands of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other authoritative sources. With intuitive search features, and extensive coverage across wide-ranging topics, you’ll find accurate information and articles to support your interests. Discover full text results to fuel exploration and gain understanding through the vast selection of periodicals in Gale General OneFile.
Global Issues in Context Gale In Context: Global Issues delivers international coverage of a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. You’ll find premium viewpoints and news articles, videos, country overviews, and primary sources analyzing world events, environmental issues, foreign affairs, global trade, and more. Gain international perspective through authoritative coverage of complex worldwide concerns in Global Issues. Global Issues In Context is updated daily.
Health and Wellness Resource Center Health and Wellness puts authoritative, up-to-date information on health and wellness topics at your fingertips. Inside you’ll have access to full text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Whether you need answers to questions you don’t feel comfortable asking your doctor or want to browse through current topics of interest, Health and Wellness provides the reliable information you need.
Literature Resource Center (Quick Tips)
Literature Resource Center Literature Resource Center is Gale’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database offering the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis.
Litfinder Gales' Litfinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Science in Context Gale’s Science in Context delivers up-to-date information on frequently studied topics in biology, chemistry, physics, math, and more. You’ll find videos, magazine and news articles, reference entries, and experiments to master science and technology topics, so that you can apply your knowledge to real-world issues.
U.S. History in Context Gale's U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
World History In Context World History In Context chronicles the events, people, and topics central to the story of humankind. You’ll find primary sources, biographies and reference overviews, videos, articles from premium publications, and more tracing global history from ancient societies to modern conflicts. Piece together the stories of the past with trusted information and innovative research tools in World History.

Google Scholar:

Using Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

JSTOR

PubMed Database:

Tips for Using PubMed A handout on the basics of PubMed. PubMed is a free database of more than 30 million citations for published articles in the fields of biomedicine and health

Virtual Research Workshop Schedule

Spring 2023 Library Virtual Research Workshop Schedule

All workshops start at 6 PM Arizona time on Zoom: Meeting ID 892 9966 8655

Learn research skills from our librarians and get help with your major research assignments.

January	February	March	April
January 25: Using the library website	February 8: Using library databases February 15: MLA papers February 22: APA papers	March 8: Using the library website March 22: MLA papers	April 5: Using library databases April 12: APA papers April 26: MLA papers

January

February

March

April

January 25: Using the library website

February 8: Using library databases

February 15: MLA papers

February 22: APA papers

March 8: Using the library website

March 22: MLA papers

April 5: Using library databases

April 12: APA papers

April 26: MLA papers